Hello world!

Welcome to my blog. I have been wanting to start one for a few years now but I guess I was waiting for the right occasion.

Towards the end of 2011 I finished my Master’s degree in Business Engineering at the Karlsruhe Institut of Technology and had a seamless transition into two great and challenging jobs: Startup Manager at the Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship. and running my own startup business Coffee Geeks. Over the last year I have therefore been imersed in the local and national startup scene in Karlsruhe and all of Germany. I have given advice to more than 60 startup projects in different stages and very different industries which was a great chance for me to grow and learn. With my own business I have gone through ups and downs and had a wonderful startup-ride which was highly instructional. I also had to realize how demanding the operations of a newly found coffee shop on campus (our “Founders’ Café”) can be, especially if you run it in parallel to a full-time job. Confronted with the difficult “all-or-nothing”-decision (raise capital do this full-time or not), we decided to close the shop and pursue more innovative, technology-centered, and scalable ideas in the future.

Starting in 2013 I am also going to work towards receiving a PhD in the field of Entrepreneurship. I would like to use this blog to talk about my passion: (1) entrepreneurship and innovation and how it relates to economic wealth and growth, (2) startups and what makes them successful, (3) business models, (4) lean thinking and much more in this realm. I will share my thoughts, ideas, experiences, models, interesting research, the results of my own work and references to the work of others. But more importantly, I invite you to share your thoughts and experiences as well!

Looking forward to what’s going to happen with this.

Julius

One response to “Hello world!

Comment

